To find a press release, please use the Search field or click on a year and then scroll down to view results.

Turfway to Host Breeders’ Cup Simulcast

Thursday, September 17, 2015 9:49 PM
  • General

Turfway to Host Breeders’ Cup Simulcast

FLORENCE, Ky. (Sept 17, 2015) – Turfway Park will simulcast the Breeders’ Cup World Championships Fri. and Sat., Oct. 30 and 31, with reservations available for Saturday. Doors open at 10 a.m. both days.

Admission and parking for the simulcast at Turfway are free both days. For Saturday’s races, patrons can make reservations in the Homestretch restaurant and bar or the RaceBook. In the Homestretch, seats at tables with individual TV monitors are $35 each. Seats at tables with views of 50 wall-mounted flat screen televisions around the restaurant are $30 each. A full buffet is included. The Homestretch is smoke-free. Seats in Players’ Row, individual handicapping stations in the RaceBook, are $5 each, with smoking and smoke-free sections available.

Reservations are available by calling (859) 371-0200. Private party space also is available.

Now in its 32nd year, the Breeders’ Cup brings together top Thoroughbreds from around the world to compete in 13 races over two days for $26 million in purses. The $5 million Breeders’ Cup Classic, the last race on the second day, is North America’s richest racing prize.  The remaining 12 races carry purses from $1 million to $3 million. This year’s live event is hosted for the first time by Keeneland in Lexington, where on-track seating is at a premium and most areas are sold out.

Expectations are high for a showdown in this year’s Classic, which is expected to draw not only Triple Crown winner American Pharoah but also Keen Ice, the horse that beat ‘Pharoah by less than a length when the two met in the Travers Stakes in August. Also likely for the Classic is Beholder, champion filly of 2012 and 2013 and already a two-time Breeders’ Cup winner. Beholder has qualified for this year’s Classic, where she would compete against males, as well as the Distaff, which she won in 2013.


Return to List