To find a press release, please use the Search field or click on a year and then scroll down to view results.

Autograph sessions with Derby winners rescheduled

Wednesday, March 4, 2009 12:00 AM
  • General
  • Spiral Stakes
FLORENCE, KY . . . March 4, 2009 . . . Turfway Park has rescheduled previously planned autograph sessions with Kentucky Derby-winning jockeys Steve Cauthen, Pat Day, Mike Manganello, Craig Perret, and Chris McCarron.

Manganello, Perret, and McCarron will be at Turfway Park on Thursday, March 12, to meet fans and sign autographs. Day and Cauthen will be on hand Thursday, March 19. The autograph sessions are scheduled from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. both days.

Fans will receive a free commemorative poster, limited to one per person. Specially designed for the event, the poster features photos of the five jockeys at various stages of celebration, including crossing the wire, holding the trophy, and posing in the winner's circle.

Only 600 posters will be printed. Posters will be available at the first-floor program booth on a first come, first served basis when gates open at 11:15 a.m. on Thursday, March 12. Fans also may bring one other item to be signed.

The sessions lead up to the 38th running of the $500,000 Lane's End Stakes on Saturday, March 21. A 1 1/8-mile race for 3-year-olds, the Grade II Lane's End Stakes is a prep race for the Kentucky Derby.

McCarron won the Derby in 1987 aboard Alysheba, who broke his maiden at Turfway the year before, and added the 1994 Derby riding Go for Gin. He won two Eclipse Awards, one as leading apprentice in 1974 and the other as leading jockey in 1980. He was honored with the George Woolf Memorial Jockey Award in 1980 and was inducted into racing’s Hall of Fame in 1989. McCarron retired from racing in 2002 and in 2006 founded the North American Racing Academy in Lexington.

Perret piloted Unbridled to victory in the 1990 Kentucky Derby and was that year's Eclipse Award winner as leading jockey. He was inducted into the Louisiana Hall of Fame in 2006 and was a nominee for induction into racing's Hall of Fame that year as well. He retired from racing in 2005 with more than 3,000 career wins, including 212 graded stakes, and now breaks Thoroughbred yearlings.

Day won the 1992 Derby with Lil E. Tee, who prepped for the Classic by winning what is now the Lane's End Stakes at Turfway. Day was the nation's leading jockey by wins six times and won the Eclipse Award as leading jockey in 1984, 1986, 1987, and 1991. He was voted the George Woolf Memorial Jockey Award in 1985 and inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1991. Day retired in 2005 and now serves with the Racetrack Chaplaincy of America.

Manganello won the 1970 Kentucky Derby with Dust Commander at odds of 15-1. He retired from riding in 1979 but stayed in racing, taking out his trainer's license that same year. He left training in 1984 and returned to riding, retiring again in 1991. Manganello is now an accredited racing official, serving as an association steward in Ohio.

Cauthen rode Affirmed to victory not only in the 1978 Derby but in the Preakness and Belmont stakes as well, becoming the youngest—and so far the last—jockey to win racing’s coveted Triple Crown. Cauthen won three Eclipse Awards in a single year, 1977, recognized with the Award of Merit and as both outstanding apprentice and outstanding jockey. He also was named Sportsman of the Year in 1977 by Sports Illustrated. At age 19 Cauthen moved his tack to England, where he was leading jockey three times and twice won the Epsom Derby. He is the only jockey in history to win the Kentucky, Epsom, Irish, French, and Italian derbies. Cauthen was voted the George Woolf Memorial Jockey Award in 1984 and was inducted into racing's Hall of Fame in 1994. He retired from racing in 1993 and now owns Dreamfields, a Kentucky Thoroughbred breeding and training operation.

Return to List