To find a press release, please use the Search field or click on a year and then scroll down to view results.

Ten students win big at Turfway

Friday, September 23, 2005 12:00 AM
  • Kentucky Cup
FLORENCE, KY . . . September 23, 2005 . . . Ten students at area colleges won big at the racetrack on Saturday, September 17, as Turfway Park and the Kentucky Thoroughbred Association gave away ten $1,000 scholarships.

The track’s first College Scholarship Day coincided with its most important day of fall racing, the Kentucky Cup Day of Champions. The scholarships were given away by random drawing after each of Turfway’s ten live races that day. The winners are:

Race 1: Courtney Cross – University of Cincinnati
Race 2: Alex Tieman – Miami (Ohio) University
Race 3: Frank Perhacs – Xavier University
Race 4: Jennifer Hott – Thomas More College
Race 5: Jenny Forbes – Eastern Kentucky University
Race 6: Karen Angel – Gateway Community and Technical College
Race 7: Jenni June – Shawnee State University
Race 8: Asha Welles – Northern Kentucky University
Race 9: Katherine Mattingly – Northern Kentucky University
Race 10: Rachel Beetz – University of Kentucky

The scholarships given away after races 1 through 9 were available to any student who is not or whose parents are not involved in the Thoroughbred industry. The 10th scholarship was available only to students who do have some affiliation with the industry, either through their own or their parents’ involvement. Ms. Beetz assists with the Keeneland Sales, the prestigious annual auctions of yearlings, two-year-olds, breeding stock, and other Thoroughbreds.

The Kentucky Thoroughbred Association was formed in 1983 by a group of Kentucky horsemen to address issues within the Thoroughbred industry, represent the industry nationally, and maintain high standards of racing, breeding, and training. Including Turfway’s inaugural event this year, the KTA and participating Kentucky tracks have given away $170,000 in scholarships since the program began in 2000.


Return to List